Visual Arts

/Visual Arts
Visual Arts 2018-05-30T13:12:47-05:00

Visual Arts Department

The visual arts program at Pius XI Catholic High School is recognized for its excellence both regionally and nationwide. Pius XI visual art scholars are routinely offered more than $3 million in college scholarships each year and continue onto the finest arts colleges in the country including: The Rhode Island School of Design, the Maryland Institute College of Art, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Parsons School of Design and more! In the past eight years alone, the program has produced 11 YoungArts National Finalists, seven National Scholastic Arts Portfolio Gold Medal winners, five Presidential Scholars and more than 100 National Scholastic Silver Portfolio Winners.

“Learning to think creatively in one discipline opens the door to understanding creative thinking in all disciplines. We believe it is the creative thinkers among us who will become the visionaries of tomorrow.”
Pat Frederick, Visual Arts Faculty

Visual Arts Program is Intentionally Designed to:

  • Help students recognize that art is primarily a means of communication.
  • Empower students with the ability to communicate visually with honesty and accuracy by giving them the necessary thinking and technical skills to discover their own voice.
  • Allow students to develop a positive way to express themselves and grow as global citizens.
  • Help students to respond thoughtfully, analytically, sensitively and critically to the voice of others.
  • Help students interact intelligently and responsibly with a culture that is increasingly becoming more visually adept.
  • Encourage students to formulate their own problems and to work independently.

Course Offerings

  • Art Fundamentals
  • Ceramics
  • Design: Introduction to Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator
  • Figure Drawing
  • Experimental Drawing
  • Fibers, Fashion Construction and Design
  • Painting 1
  • Photography 1
  • Photography 2: New Genres
  • Sculpture
  • The Context of Western Culture: 1700 – Present
  • Special Projects in Art
  • AP Art Portfolio Preparation
  • AP Studio Art – 11
  • AP Studio Art – 12

Visual Arts Faculty

Catherine Burnett (Department Chairperson): cburnett@piusxi.org
Anne Dretzka: adretzka@piusxi.org
Patricia Frederick: pfrederick@piusxi.org
Craig Gyland: cgyland@piusxi.org
Kevin Jennings: kjennings@piusxi.org
Mark Mulhern: mmulhern@piusxi.org
Devan Schneider: dschneider@piusxi.org
Will Swenson: wswenson@piusxi.org

Pius XI offers an exceptional educational experience grounded in four core pillars of excellence

• Living the Faith
• College-Ready Academics
• Renowned Arts Program
• Winning Athletics

Award-winning faculty are scholars in their own right and committed to student success

• 100+ courses
• 12 Advanced Placement classes
• Customized Tailored Curriculum
• Engage students in intellectual dialogue
• Cultivating lifelong learning

Pius XI is a warm and welcoming community of global learners

• Diverse, International Community
• Broad World Perspective
• Academic Prowess
• Respect and Dignity of Others
• Deep Appreciation of Peers

Upon graduation, our students are prepared with life skills to succeed

• 93% of Pius XI graduates continue their education at a four-year university or college
• After attaining a Bachelors degree, 32% of grads will pursue an advanced degree
• Pius XI grads have been chosen by every Ivy League and Big 10 School