Mathematics

/Mathematics
Mathematics 2018-04-06T11:32:51-05:00

Mathematics Department

The Mathematics program at Pius XI provides a high level of rigor through best practices. In this department, students learn the analytical and quantitative skills necessary for them to succeed in a 21st century economy.

Most students will begin in one of three classes: Accelerated Algebra, Algebra or Pre-Algebra. Incoming students can be placed into Accelerated Geometry upon successful completion of the Pius XI Algebra Skills Test.

Students are reminded that for those classes requiring a calculator, they need to purchase a TI-84+ (preferred) or a TI-84 Silver Edition Graphing Calculator.

“Preparation for the ACT is integrated throughout the math curriculum to provide students the greatest opportunity to perform at a high level on this test.”

Catherine Drasch, Mathematics Faculty

Program Highlights:

  • Median test scores for Pius XI students on the AP Calculus exam were 4 out of a possible 5.
    • 74% of the students taking the Advanced Placement exam received a score of 3 or higher.
  • The math department was awarded a Phi Delta Kappa – Innovation and Impact Grant to integrate the use of MATLAB (a programming language for numerical computing) into junior level courses.
    • Pius XI was one of only three schools chosen nationally for this grant.
  • Technology is incorporated into all Geometry courses through the use of Geometer’s Sketchpad.
  • The Pius XI Math Club – the Mathletes – participate in a variety of competitions including Trig Star and Wisconsin Math League contests.
  • Prospective students are encouraged to participate in the 8th Grade Math Scholarship Competition.

The Math Program Enables Students to Develop the Ability to:

  • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
  • Model with mathematics.
  • Use appropriate tools strategically.
  • Attend to precision.
  • Look for and make use of structure.
  • Recognize regularity in repeated reasoning.

Course Offerings:

  • Pre-Algebra
  • Algebra 1
  • Accelerated Algebra 1
  • Geometry
  • Accelerated Geometry
  • Honors Math 3
  • Algebra and Trigonometry
  • Algebra 2
  • Pre-Calculus
  • Trigonometry
  • Statistics
  • AP Calculus AB
  • AP Statistics

Mathematics Faculty

Mary Eldredge (Department Chair): meldredge@piusxi.org
Cheryl Brenner: cbrenner@piusxi.org
Catherine Drasch: cdrasch@piusxi.org
Richard Rischer: rfischer@piusxi.org
Sara Glodoski: sglodoski@piusxi.org
Courtney Kohn: ckohn@piusxi.org
John Stodoloa: jstodoloa@piusxi.org
Aubrey Warner: awarner@piusxi.org

Pius XI offers an exceptional educational experience grounded in four core pillars of excellence

• Living the Faith
• College-Ready Academics
• Renowned Arts Program
• Winning Athletics

Award-winning faculty are scholars in their own right and committed to student success

• 100+ courses
• 12 Advanced Placement classes
• Customized Tailored Curriculum
• Engage students in intellectual dialogue
• Cultivating lifelong learning

Pius XI is a warm and welcoming community of global learners

• Diverse, International Community
• Broad World Perspective
• Academic Prowess
• Respect and Dignity of Others
• Deep Appreciation of Peers

Upon graduation, our students are prepared with life skills to succeed

• 93% of Pius XI graduates continue their education at a four-year university or college
• After attaining a Bachelors degree, 32% of grads will pursue an advanced degree
• Pius XI grads have been chosen by every Ivy League and Big 10 School